The Land Rover Owners Wife

Lettuce, Salad Bowl and Webbs Wonderful

Leave a comment

This is a record of how long this particular set of seeds took to germinate and how they looked at various stages from first appearance to the development of the first set of true leaves and beyond. I hope this will prove useful.

Variety: Salad Bowl and Webbs Wonderful
Sown indoors: 4th March 2013
First Seedling: 8th March 2013
Germination: 4 days

Emerging and newly emerged lettuce seedlings

Emerging and newly emerged lettuce seedlings

I had thought that both these varieties had failed in their entirety after they failed to thrive because they had been sown in the poor quality seed compost in error. I had, in a desperate attempt to save the few seedlings that had survived/appeared, repotted them into the organic vegetable compost but it didn’t work ….. or so I thought. So three days ago, I ‘trashed’ this post and decided to concentrate on the Morestons Mix and Lollo Rossa lettuces instead. This morning whilst doing my ‘Seed to Seedling’ photo shoot, I discovered one seedling for each variety had, in fact, started to grow.

So here we are folks at 7 weeks old  (although I would normally expect both theses to be much further along by now) a Salad Bowl and A Webbs Wonderful:

Lettuce montageNearly 3 months old the Salad Bowl and Webbs Wonderful are doing very nicely now.

Lettuce Salad Bowl   Lettuce Webbs Wonderful

Please feel free to leave a comment and I'll respond as soon as I can

