The Land Rover Owners Wife

Squash, Butternut Hunter

Leave a comment

This is a record of how long this particular set of seeds took to germinate and how they looked at various stages from first appearance to the development of the first set of true leaves and beyond. I hope this will prove useful.

Variety: Butternut Hunter
Sown indoors: 2nd April 2013
First Seedling: 9th April 2013
Germination: 7 days

These seeds were a Mothers Day gift from Middle Mudlet.

1 Day old

1 Day old

I haven’t grown this variety before but I am treating it much the same way as I do my Cobnuts and, as such, I am planning to grow them up either a fence or a bean support. I have started to tie these seedlings up now, to prevent them falling over which would make it more difficult to then tie them to a stake without sustaining damage to the stem when I plant them out. Now approximately 18 days old:

Squash, Butternut Hunter

Now 3 months old the Hunter Squash are starting to develop their flowers. They have been slow to put out their vines due, I feel, to the cool weather we’ve been having.

Squash HunterThe Hunters are now 4 months old and despite showing flowers a month ago, most of these have failed to grow and bloom! It really has been a bad year for these in terms of growth and flowers but finally we have both. It may be a bit late in the year for successful pollination but I’m ever the optimist and at lest we have tiny female flowers forming now.

Squash Hunter   Squash Hunter

The first female has opened and I have used my paintbrush to hand pollinate this flower, even though there were a large number of pollinators buzzing about: 21st August 2013

Squash Hunter

Please feel free to leave a comment and I'll respond as soon as I can

