The Land Rover Owners Wife

Squash, Winter Festival

2 Comments

This is a record of how long this particular set of seeds took to germinate and how they looked at various stages from first appearance to the development of the first set of true leaves and beyond. I hope this will prove useful.

Variety: Winter Festival
Sown indoors: 29th March 2013
First Seedling: 11th April 2013
Germination: 13 days

1 day old seedling

1 day old seedling

These seedlings are from seeds sown at the same time. The one on the left is 8 days old and the other is now 10 days old.

Winter Festival   Winter Festival

Approximately 16 days old. I intend to grow these plants up against a fence or bean support and so I am tying them up as they grow, ready for planting out:

Squash, Winter Festival  Squash, Winter Festival

At just short of 6 weeks old, these plants have now been planted into one of the raised beds. As with all my squash plants the hole these went into was partially back filled with compost from our home composter, then watered BEFORE the plant went in.

Squash Winter Festival  Squash Winter Festival

Now 2 months old and the plants have male flowers which should open in a day or so. You can tell these are male flowers as they have long straight stems. Female flowers have a small swelling, like an embryonic squash behind them. It is not unusual for squash plants to initially produce loads of same sex flowers but the other gender will appear eventually.

Squash, Winter FestivalNearly 4 months old and we have 1 tiny fruit on a plant. The Winter Festivals have not done at all well this year which is a shame because they look so pretty and taste wonderful when roasted.

Squash, Winter Festival

2 thoughts on “Squash, Winter Festival

  1. Reblogged this on The Home Vegetable Gardener Blog and commented:
    I finally had time to plant my squash and zuchinni seedlings in the garden and they are not doing that great. I believe they have sun scald or something like it because the leaves have turning yellow and shriveling up. I’m not sure what I did wrong with them but I hope they can bounce back soon or I’ll have to just buy some plants from the big box store.

    I thought this was an interesting blog to re-post on my site today since I’ve been out of the game lately with my posts. I hope to get back in the swing of things as I continue planting stuff in the garden this Spring. I’ve so busy with my wife’s blog @ http://twistystitches.biz that I haven’t had time to post anything on my blog.

  2. Wow. Thank you. I hope you are able to sort your squash and courgettes (zucchini) seedlings out. It’ll be a few weeks yet before I even consider planting mine out, as hard frosts have been known to hit as late as mid-May in our part of the UK (North East). I lost all my planted out squash seedlings in May 2010 but, thankfully, I had done my usual and sown too many, staggered over a few weeks and so had a few spares tucked up in the warmth of the greenhouse.

Please feel free to leave a comment and I'll respond as soon as I can

