The Land Rover Owners Wife

Orphaned lambs and potting plants

Leave a comment

LambsAfter the exhausting activity of Saturday and Sunday and the frustration at not being able to get any potting on done, it was a relief to greet another bright, warm and cheery day today. I didn’t need much encouragement to get outside and on with the job in hand, despite aching muscles, so once the Mudlets had finished breakfast and I’d had a coffee, I gathered the first lot of seedlings I needed and carried them out to the blindingly bright and stupendously sparkly greenhouses (did I mention that I’d cleaned them? Floors and all?), ready for potting on.
Start of a new day

Start of a new day

At first glance there seemed to be plenty of space for all the seedlings in their new pots but by the end of the day, things were starting to get a little crowded. By lunch time I had done: 5 Czar Runner beans; 6 Cherokee Trail of Tears Pole Beans; 6 Wautoma Cucumbers; and 4 Courgette Black Beauty.

No potting shed/greenhouse is complete without a cup of something

No potting shed/greenhouse is complete without a cup of something

I did pause mid session when I realised that I had forgotten to bring the most important of all gardening equipment out with me ……..but I soon rectified that oversight.

Filling up fast

Filling up fast

After preparing lunch for Mud and the Mudlets, I had to quickly nip into town but I went straight back to my plants when I returned and managed to pot on, 3 Anna Swartz Hubbard Squash; 6 Cheyenne Bush Pumkins; 3 Butternut ‘Hunter’ Squash; 3 Cobnut squash; and 6 of the Mangetouts.

By then it was time to take the Mudlets on a visit to see a couple of orphan lambs.

We live in a village, surrounded by fields, most of which are arable but it is fair to say that we do have a fair few sheep dotted around the place, not that you would know from the way Little Mudlet reacts whenever she sees a sheep. You would think that she had never seen one before and as for lambs, well, they’re just so, SO, rare ….. we hardly ever see them!

We’ll be traveling along when suddenly an excited “Sheep!” will be heard from the back seat and during spring this is almost inevitably followed with a high pitched “LAMBS!!” and then “More Sheep!”, etc etc. So when I was told that one of the houses in the village was looking after 2 orphaned lambs, I figured this was too good an opportunity to miss and so on the way back from town earlier, I had called in and asked if it would be okay for the girls to come meet the lambs.

LambsFast forward a couple of hours and the Mudlets and I made our way round to the house in question and both girls had great fun running up and down the garden chasing or being chased by the lambs ….. and boy oh boy weren’t they cute (the lambs that is, as it goes without saying that my children are gorgeous and impossibly cute at all times :)). It always seems to me that youngsters can always recognise other youngsters and so it seemed with the lambs. They gambled and frolicked alongside my girls, taking it in turns to chase each around the garden. What a wonderful sight it was and what an unforgettable memory for the girls. One of the funniest sights of all was the naughty lambs chasing the cockerels around, much to the shock and surprise of the Mudlets, who, until then, hadn’t really considered that youngsters from other animals/creatures could be as naughty or mischievous as human children.

LambsAt three weeks old, these lambs were obviously full of the joys of spring. They had both come from a local petting farm where their mothers had rejected them. The ewe lamb (that’s the one with the furry face and legs) is a Ryelands/Dartmoor cross and was terribly ill initially but pulled through – she is partial to a bit of leather boot and handbag, as I found out. The other lamb, with the very clear and distinctive black nose, eyes and sleeker body is a ram and he is a Kerry Hill/Dartmoor cross and has to have one of the most amazing looking faces I’ve ever seen on a sheep.

The girls were reluctant to leave their new playmates but we did have to get home as I had tea to make, the Mudlets needed a bath and hair wash for school tomorrow and  I had some more seedlings to pot on.

Getting a little crowded now

Getting a little crowded now

By 7pm, the rest of the Mangetout and 4 Winter Festival Squashes had joined the other seedlings in the greenhouse and I had run out of space. I still have lettuces, Kohl Rabi and sweet peas to pot on and so tomorrow I will need to move the strawberries out to make room for them and I may even put the leeklings under netting on one of the beds, as these tend to do better in cooler conditions and I think the greenhouse is getting too warm during the day.

Scotch and ginger - a little pick me up

Scotch and ginger – a little pick me up

The only thing left to do was to finish off with another piece of essential gardening paraphernalia (well actually, according to Mud it’s pretty essential for most things/occasions :)) and to sit back and relax.

Please feel free to leave a comment and I'll respond as soon as I can

