The Land Rover Owners Wife

Baby boom – one for the boys

4 Comments

This pattern looks more complicated than it is

This pattern looks more complicated than it is

With the Little Mudlets’ teacher due to go on maternity leave very soon, I needed to decide what I was going to make for the new baby. This baby is a little boy and so the very pretty, frilly and overly delicate, lace type jackets were out for a start and I was struggling to find a pattern suitable for a little boy. I guess that’s what happens when you only have girls yourself.
Finished ready for making up

Finished ready for making up

Another blogger suggested a lovely little baby blanket pattern that she had used before and I was sorely tempted by this but then, whilst looking for something totally unrelated to knitting, I happened across one of my favourite baby jacket patterns of all time (one which I thought I had lost) and, eureka, the decision was made:

Peter Pan P838, in the v-neck.

I have made this jacket so many times I could probably do it in my sleep. The finished pattern looks satisfyingly complicated whilst actually being very easy, as the largest section of pattern is only 8 rows long and it is so easy to commit to memory ….. not that I’ll be sharing that piece of information with anyone else.

Shoulder seams joined and button band now completed

Shoulder seams joined and button band now completed

Next task was to decide on a wool to use and this proved a tad difficult. The owner of the little craft shop from which I usually get my wool, doesn’t stock as many varieties these days, mainly due to the fact that her business is being undermined by the so called second hand shops, now stocking brand new balls of cheap wool and the arrival in town, of a large chain store which stocks everything from soap to bleach, toys to clothes, car maintenance to gardening and it also has a substantial wool section.

As a matter of principle, I try to support the little craft store but it is getting harder as her stock levels diminish but then I guess she’s stuck between a rock and a hard place. Short of going onto the next town where there is a dedicated knitting shop, I was at a loss as to what to do but then I spotted a solitary ball of pale blue Robin Bonny Babe DK behind some pinks. The wool felt soft, although it is 100% acrylic, so not my favourite kind to knit up (especially for baby knits) but time was against me and so I bought the 100g ball.

Back view of completed jacket

Back view of completed jacket

Reservations aside, it has knitted up beautifully and actually feels soft and not harsh, as is often the case with the 100% acrylic wools. I’m really quite pleased with how it’s turned out and I found some nice bright blue buttons for it. Little Mudlet was suitably impressed and now can’t wait to give it to her teacher …..

…… although she’d rather her teacher wasn’t about to go on a years maternity leave and can’t understand why the baby can’t come to school with its’ mum!

4 thoughts on “Baby boom – one for the boys

  1. That is just lovely. Really fabby pattern! You’re super woman, gardening away & whipping up a baby cardigan in no time!

    • Thank you. I really do love that pattern but sadly all my girls are far too big for it now.

      As for being super woman, that’s the thing with baby jackets, especially first size, they can be knitted up over a few evenings in next to no time 🙂

  2. Lucky teacher. This is very cute and manly. Perfect pattern.

Please feel free to leave a comment and I'll respond as soon as I can

