The Land Rover Owners Wife

Drop Scones with strawberries and ice-cream

4 Comments

A tasty treat for the Mudlets

A tasty treat for the Mudlets

With my strawberry plants still producing a rather respectable volume of fruit, I needed to think of another way to serve them up so that the Mudlets didn’t get fed up with them on their cereal. Well, okay they probably wouldn’t ever get fed up with strawberries on their cereal, as a snack or any way I chose to serve them but I did want to try something a little different for them.

So last night, after they had eaten their dinner I decided to make a batch of drop scones (American Pancakes or Scotch Pancakes) which are one of their favourite treats and are quick and easy to make. I used a bog standard batter recipe:

  • 4oz self raising flour;
  • pinch of salt;
  • 1oz caster sugar;
  • 1 egg; and
  • 150ml milk.
Drop Scones with Strawberry and Ice-cream

Drop Scones with Strawberry and Ice-cream

I tend to put all the ingredients in a large jug/bowl in the order of the recipe and then just beat the whole lot up in one go with a hand whisk, then fry them over a medium heat, a few seconds per side. These were then placed, still warm, into the girls’ bowls, halved strawberries were added and then a generous scoop of full-fat vanilla ice-cream which then started to soften immediately on contact with the warm drop scones.

The Mudlets were delighted but I still have several dozen more fresh, ripe strawberries waiting to be eaten, not to mention those still on the plants. I just don’t know what to do with them all …… such a hardship ……. πŸ˜€

4 thoughts on “Drop Scones with strawberries and ice-cream

  1. Those pancakes look great. I shall follow your recipe and give them a go! x

  2. Those look delicious, I hope there were some left for you! πŸ˜€

Please feel free to leave a comment and I'll respond as soon as I can

