The Land Rover Owners Wife

I tried to crochet ….. again.

4 Comments

Look closely and you will see:a mouse, toadstools, bunting and even knitted ladybirds.

Look closely and you will see:a mouse or two, toadstools, bunting and even knitted ladybirds.

I can knit! In fact I think I can knit reasonably well. I can make toys, jumpers, cardigans, scarves and I even made a candy floss pink woolen dress for Eldest Mudlet when she was about 2 or 3. Toadstools, ladybirds, bees, mice and bunting can be churned out in a matter of hours, if the Mudlets suddenly decide, 48 hours beforehand they want to enter the best decorated bike competition at the May Fete.
Not quite a relic of supreme historical significance

Not quite a relic of supreme historical significance

But crochet? Crochet defeats me. I have tried to get the hang of it over the years but to no avail and so my crochet hook has been relegated to the bottom of my needle bag, secure in its’ plastic pouch and so little use has it had, that the price tag on the pouch is still clear and as new, despite being in my possession for the last 15 years or so. Carry on like this and it’ll soon be classified as a relic of great historical importance, sought after by museums and serious collectors alike ……. okay, maybe that is a slight exaggeration but you know what I mean.

I think this is the 'right' side - not perfect, needs work .....

I think this is the ‘wrong’ side – not perfect, needs work …..

Since starting this blog I have stumbled across a couple of really good blogs documenting the knitting and crocheting projects of the blog authors, mollie&claire and thegrangerange the latter of which I only recently came across. With my previous attempts at crocheting still clear in my mind, I have admired the skill of these ladies from afar but whilst browsing ‘thegrangerange‘ the other day, I happened upon a gorgeous striped crocheted cat toy and a post about the making of a cute mouse toy. Middle Mudlet was sitting beside me at the time and instantly fell for the cat and was quite disappointed to know that mummy couldn’t actually crochet and so I wouldn’t be able to attempt it.

Her disappointment coupled with the pure gorgeousness of both cat and mouse, played on my mind and so last night, I dug out my crochet hook, found an oddment of wool, located a ‘how to for dummies’ guide via Google and set to work.

..... a lot of work but practice (and a lot of it) might make it perfect some day!

….. a lot of work but practice (and a lot of it) might make it perfect some day!

I should point out at this juncture that I don’t expect to have the skills to even think about making either toy until the Mudlets are graduating from Year 13, (Little Mudlet is currently Year 1 and Middle Mudlet is Year 4 in case you were wondering), but I am quite pleased with how my chain stitch, single crochet and double crochet stitches turned out. I’ve never managed to get this far before and granted it is far from perfect but later today I will start again and hone my emerging skill (I use the word lightly), practicing these stitches again before trying out more variations like the shell stitch or the v stitch.

Oh and what about the triple double stitch – doesn’t that sound fabulously complicated.

Oh and as for crocheting in circles ……. oh my, I can’t wait.

4 thoughts on “I tried to crochet ….. again.

  1. I have the same problem! I have managed to crochet a flower and have had lessons from my Mum in making a granny square but I am terribly slow and it comes out wonky. My winter challenge I think.

    The bikes look lovely.

    • Thank you. We had great fun decorating them. I think I may have to look up the instructions for a granny square πŸ™‚

      BTW I had to retrieve your comment from my spam folder – I guess Akismet have now decided you’re a spammer too. They still haven’t sorted things out for me and it’s been best part of a week now.

  2. The bikes are FAB! You’ll get there. I’m not that brilliant at crochet, just endlessly confident I can so it… I found a crochet stitches book really helpful, your local library might have one. My only tip is to keep your stitches very loose. Looser than you think they should be. πŸ˜„

Please feel free to leave a comment and I'll respond as soon as I can

