The Land Rover Owners Wife

What to do with nearly 3lb of cherries? Conserve them

7 Comments

The last few won't last long with the Mudlets around

The last few won’t last long with the Mudlets around

Earlier this week, Mud came home with a huge tub of Cherries which one of his work colleagues had given him as a thank you for the tomato plants and tub we’d given her. We love cherries in this household but even we were going to struggle to get through what turned out to be nearly 3lb (1.36kg) of the most gorgeous, tasty and juicy cherries we have ever tasted, although the Mudlets were happy to try.

So I had to come up with a plan and, following on from the success with my strawberry conserve a few weeks ago, I decided to have a go at Cherry Conserve.

So last night I de-stoned a lot of cherries until I had 550g of them, placed them in a bowl and then added 450g of sugar which I then thoroughly mixed into the cherries. The bowl was then covered with clingfilm and went into the fridge overnight.

This morning we had a family outing, taking in the delights of BAPP, Humberside Paint and Products and A&P Land Rover Supplies before finishing our magical mystery tour at Morrisons where we had to pick up supplies because Eldest Mudlet is coming for a ‘sleep over’ (as the younger Mudelts like to call it) tomorrow and Mud always feels a need to feed her up with lovely food stuffs. Not your typical family day out ….. unless that is you happen to be the family of a Land Rover Owner.

The juices had seeped out from the cherries overnight and blended with the sugar

The juices had seeped out from the cherries overnight and blended with the sugar

Anyway, by the time we got back, had unpacked the shopping, had lunch and I finally remembered the cherries, they had been fermenting in the sugar for over 12 hours. The next step was to put the mixture into a pan and heat it over a low heat until the sugar had melted. I then added two tablespoons of lemon juice and continued to boil the mixture until the mythical ‘setting point’ had been reached – I’m still not sure I’ve identified this properly but the last batch worked well so, fingers crossed.

I allowed the mixture to cool down for half an hour or so, as this apparently helps to ensure that the fruit pieces are evenly dispersed and don’t all rise to the top of the jars, sterilising the jars by pouring boiling water in to jars and lids and leaving them for 5 minutes, whilst waiting for the pan to cool.

Yummy! Two full jars to try

Yummy! Two full jars to try

Once cooled a little and the syrup had thickened slightly, I ladled the mixture into the jars before screwing the lids back on. This time there was enough to completely fill two 350g jars and these are now on the side cooling down before being placed into the fridge overnight. There are still some cherries left for eating but I’m quite sure the Mudelts will have dealt with these stragglers by the end of the weekend.

Of course the proof of the pudding (or conserve) will be at jar opening tomorrow when Mud and the Mudlets have some on their toast but the taste I had was very nice indeed, much better than the strawberry one in my opinion …… maybe I should hide it …… keep it just for me …. I’m sure they wouldn’t notice. Would they?

7 thoughts on “What to do with nearly 3lb of cherries? Conserve them

  1. Delicious! Never made cherry jam but stocked up my strawberry and black currant this week.

    • I hadn’t ever made jam of any sort before this year but I’m really looking forward to trying the Cherry Conserve πŸ™‚

      • Oh, super impressed then! Looked like a pro at work. Eventually I gave up with the cold plate setting point method and bought a jam thermometer. It made me realise how huge a rolling boil it needed to be to get it up to the 103 degrees.

  2. Home made jams and conserves are wonderful, try putting a spoonful onto some greek yoghurt.

    • Urm, well, unfortunately I think I over cooked the mix and we now have a lovely thick, almost glace cherry situation. Still nice though and the Mudlets love them. I’m thinking I may need a jam thermometer for next year πŸ™‚

  3. Sounds delicious, I think you should definitely hide one, it’ll be a nice treat on hot toast after a chilly autumn day in the garden! It’s amazing how many cherries have been around this year, we have a small tree and normally never even get one cherry, this year there were quite a few and neighbours with more mature trees were laden!

    • One of things I love about growing my own and being given produce as swapsies, is the opportunity to try new things, even if they don’t always turn out the way you expect them to πŸ˜‰

      I think it’s a good year for fruit full stop! The schools’ tiny apple and pear trees are laden with fruit this year.

Please feel free to leave a comment and I'll respond as soon as I can

