The Land Rover Owners Wife

I can see a rainbow

2 Comments

Before and After

Before and After

But it’s not in the sky, it’s all around my garden and up until yesterday, it included rather a lot of yellowing leaves. Actually there are still a few yellowing leaves but I’ve taken the majority off the plants but I think some of the others are down to lack of Manganese and so I’ll need to look for a solution at the garden centre. Unfortunately, the removing of the leaves has resulted in largish patches of brown soil now being visible where once there was lush, green growth.

Yellowing in places but still producing a good number of pods each day

Yellowing in places but still producing a good number of pods each day

There are also plants which are merely yellowing with age and the only solution for these is the ultimate removal of them but this may not be for some time in cases where the newest parts of plants are still cropping (the mangetout for example) or, as in the case of the Pole beans, where the last few pods are being left to fully develop and dry for the purposes of providing next years seeds. In these cases I have no choice but to turn a blind eye and accept that this is natural progression and can not be avoided.

Yellowing leaves I'll have to live with for now

Yellowing leaves I’ll have to live with for now

There are also still a respectable number of large, yellow squash flowers open most days and tomorrow looks set to herald yet another variety, the cobnut squash, opening its’ first female flower but even if by some miracle it manages to pollinate successfully, it may well be too late for it to grow and then ripen before the frosts set it but who knows, we may get lucky – only time will tell.

Tomato Sweet MillionsThen we have the orange and reds of the ripening tomatoes, not just in the greenhouse now, I was surprised and pleased to note earlier but also on the Sweet Millions which are happily established in one of the beds beside the gravel path. There are a large number of small tomatoes across two plants and I have no doubt their diminutive size will prove a big hit with the Mudlets. We’ve already had the first two greenhouse tomatoes, not to mention a couple of cucumbers and I have scooped the seeds out of one of the cucumbers for seed saving purposes and these are now drying on a paper plate, under cover, in the kitchen.

Kohl RabiLifting the double netting off the brassicas this morning, revealed the pink and purple of the Kohl Rabi which are starting to develop the distinctive globes at the base of the stalks of the bottom leaves and there was also the glossy red of the Lollo Rosso Lettuce, a few leaves of which were picked and included in the salad we had for tea, looking striking alongside the red edged but predominantly green Lollo Rosso leaves from the plants still growing in pots in the greenhouse.

I wasn't expecting these

I wasn’t expecting these ….

It was as I walked back to the house, clutching yet more mangetout and a few runner beans that I noticed that the marigolds in the hanging baskets were in full bloom. I had been pleasantly surprised to notice these tiny flowers a few days ago, as they are the result of self seeding by last years marigolds which had been grown in the baskets alongside Tumbling Tom tomatoes. The flowers had been left to die back and seed heads had formed which subsequently burst (probably with help from the birds). This year I had planted some strawberry plants in the hanging baskets but the marigolds, although late, are a cheery and welcome sight, albeit a tad on the small size.

.... or these.

…. or these.

Then yesterday, I spotted another surprise in one of the other hanging baskets. This time it was a couple of bunches of the most glorious, dark blue Lobelia (Crystal Palace is the variety I believe). Again these had been grown in the basket last year and so I can only assume that, like the marigolds, the parent plant self seeded and the result was theses little clumps of blue. Sadly the picture doesn’t do them justice but they are so pretty and I am very pleased to see them there.

It’s so nice to find these little surprises every now and again, adding little splashes of additional colour to my garden, ensuring that we have a rainbows worth to enjoy.

2 thoughts on “I can see a rainbow

  1. I’m hoping to grow squash next yr. Do you have many problems with them apart from them setting?
    I think the yellowing leaves are just a sign that the plant is putting all the nutrients now into the flowers/fruit, so nothing to worry about.
    You’re plot is looking really good 🙂

    • Thanks Sophie.

      For the most part I usually get a good result with the squash varieties I grown but the cold weather really held them back this year and whilst my Hunters and Cobnuts both have plenty of flowers on them now, this is quite late and there is no fruit as yet. Cobnuts are easier to grow than Hunters though and taste just as good 🙂

      I agree with the cause of the yellowing leaves and I guess the feed I’ve used is lacking in Manganese. I find that’s normally the cause for the yellowing of leaves on my bean plants. I did dig lots of chicken manure, some fresh compost and fish blood and bones back in but I’m wondering if all the rain we had last year, washed more nutrients out than I realised. Will be offering to take some well rotted manure from local horse owners this autumn I think 🙂

Please feel free to leave a comment and I'll respond as soon as I can

