The Land Rover Owners Wife

Cardigan in Sirdar Country Style: And one for me

13 Comments

Sirdar patternI can’t remember the last time I picked up my needles with the view to making something for myself but it certainly hasn’t been during the 11 or so years we’ve lived here. Ind fact the more I think about it, I can’t help but feel that it was some 22 years ago when Eldest Mudlet was born, an event that seems to have heralded the start of a succession (or should that be procession) of baby jackets, childrens’ cardigans and jean Greenhowe knitted toys.

Then a few months ago I stumbled upon the Mollie&Claire blog and that in turn led me to other crafting blogs and the urge not only to pick up my knitting needles but to make something substantial began to grow, resulting in a trawl through on-line patterns, a trip to my local craft shop and ultimately the finding of a Sirdar pattern I really wanted to make ….. for me!

Sirdar patternNext i choose and ordered the yarn and then began the finger itchingly slow wait, for the phone call to say that my yarn had arrived. Last week the call came but I had to wait until this weekend to go collect my yarn and pattern but yesterday I tootled off to town and picked up 9 x 50 g balls of Sirdar Country Style in Smokey Green (shade number 470) and my pattern (Sirdar 9425).

It wasn’t until around 5pm that I was able to sit down and cast on (Mud was making dinner) but I was quite pleased with how much I managed to get done during the course of last night, allowing for dishes time, a trip to the polytunnel putting and the younger Mudlets to bed etc. The yarn is really nice to knit with, feels incredibly soft and looks nice as a block colour – these photo’s don’t really do it justice but I’ll try to get better pictures next time.

I’m not sure how much progress I’ll make today as Eldest Mudelt is coming over for her belated birthday celebration and I have a birthday cake to make but it will be waiting for me whenever I have a few minutes.

13 thoughts on “Cardigan in Sirdar Country Style: And one for me

  1. The pattern is gorgeous. I might have to source it myself – my sister loves that shape and I love knitting for her, just not the acres of stocking stitch. Your pattern looks like it has lots of interesting things going on. Enough not to get bored anyway. Can’t wait to see how it turns out. X

  2. I just ordered it on eBay! I need to make my sister something for Crimbo and I have some turquoise Rowan that would fit the job. (I may have a self imposed ban on buying yarn but didn’t include patterns!) exciting.
    Anyway I wanted some courgette advice. I just found a huge courgette tucked at the back of the plant and picked it. Half the leaves on the plant are healthy and green and I have two flowers, but half are going yellow and a couple have died. Do I trim off the dead ones? It looks like all of its efforts have been going into Mr Enormous which will make a very nice ratatouille in due course.
    And while I’m asking, my tomato plants are very leggy. The tomatoes are small and green and not much seems to be happening…. Any advice?
    Plus, what is really annoying is my pots of pansies have gone over and look scraggy two weeks before my Dad and stepmother visit….

    • Lol, okay personally with the courgette plant I would trim the dead and dying leaves because they won’t be helping the plant at all. It’s that time of the year unfortunately.

      My outside tomatoes are only just starting to turn red. Have you fed the tomatoes? Once the trusses are set (that means tomatoes are growing) you should be feeding the plant once a week with some sort of tomato food to replenish the nutrients. This is especially true of plants in growbags. The supermarket or your garden centre will have some. Not a lot can be done about leggy tomatoes plants though and, in my experience, leggy plants don’t produce anywhere near as many tomatoes as a ‘normal’ plant – you’ll just have to nurture those you have growing already.

      I’d be tempted to give the pansies a good dead heading session and remove any dead foliage being careful not to take off new growth. With any luck this should help stimulate the plants back into growth. Also a good feed with some general purpose food might help, or top dress with some fresh compost (that means carefully place new compost on top of the old, under the foliage) to give them a boost.

      HTH

  3. I read that back and realised I’d missed out the crucial word in asking for advice – please – sorry about that. I do have manners somewhere.

  4. The pattern and colour look lovely. Funny how you picked a shade of green, to go with your green fingers?

  5. You’ll ever guess but this is exactly what I have done this weekend; purchased some yarn and a pattern to knit my very first garment for me!

  6. I like the pattern and love the colour! Maybe I will have to have another go with knitting soon. I’ll be interested to see how it progresses. 🙂

Please feel free to leave a comment and I'll respond as soon as I can

