The Land Rover Owners Wife

Cardigan in Sirdar Country Style: First pattern section completed

Leave a comment

I got more done than I expected to!

I got more done than I expected to!

After casting on my knitting on Saturday and managing to complete a few rows, I didn’t really expect to be able do much more until late yesterday (Monday) afternoon at the earliest. This was due to the visit of Eldest Mudlet who was due to come Sunday for a belated family celebration of her birthday. As it turned out,the younger Mudlets monopolised quite a lot of her time yesterday and so, during the course of the day, I was able to get a couple more rows done.

With Eldest Mudlet delivered back to the bus yesterday afternoon, I returned home, popped next door for a coffee with our elderly neighbour (the one who broke her hip in June). With Mud on dinner cooking duty, I thought that I would be able to spend a short time catching up with my emails, once I got back home, and then i could sit back and enjoy a lengthy knitting session, interrupted briefly by dinner, dishes and the Mudlet bedtime ritual.

I didn’t even get the emails answered because no sooner had I sat down, than a dear friend who we hadn’t seen for some 15 months or so, made an unexpected visit and ended up staying for tea. It was 9pm by the time I picked up my needles again, beavering away for a few hours as Mud surfed the net.

Mind you, for all the distractions of the last two days, I have manged to finish the first pattern section and have now started on the second section. The first part of the pattern has been really easy to do but looks pretty effective. In the end I needed to complete the 16 row pattern panel 3.5 times which means that the pattern has ended at a natural break for the transition into the second section.

I am really happy with the way the yarn is knitting up (I’ve just joined on the second 50g ball) and how the knit looks and how it feels to touch. Hopefully today I’ll be able to get the second section completed.

Please feel free to leave a comment and I'll respond as soon as I can

