The Land Rover Owners Wife

Cardigan in Sirdar Country Style: Second pattern section completed

1 Comment

First and second patterns complete

First and second patterns complete

Yesterday evening I was able to push on and managed to complete the 22 rows of the second pattern section which created an almost leaf like shape. The finished section looks quite complex but is actually really, really easy.

I also completed the transition from pattern two to pattern three which involved changing from 4mm to 3.25mm needles and doing 4 rows of knit. The previous transition from pattern one to pattern two had also involved this needle change but was 6 rows of purl.

Close up of the second pattern section

Close up of the second pattern section

Using 4mm needles again, I then had enough time to start the first couple of rows of the third pattern section before I packed my needles away for the night. Although only a very small amount of shaping is required on the back (for the shoulders and affects 4 rows), once I get to the front pieces this section will be the most challenging, as it will involve shaping the neck which requires the knitter to drop stitches to form the curve whilst maintaining the continuity of the pattern – not the easiest of tasks but a challenging one which will keep me on my toes.

One thought on “Cardigan in Sirdar Country Style: Second pattern section completed

Please feel free to leave a comment and I'll respond as soon as I can

