The Land Rover Owners Wife

Squash and Pumpkins growing (weekly update)

15 Comments

I am always fascinated by the speed at which a squash or pumpkin swells and grows, following successful pollination. Sometimes it can take a couple of days before you actually see any increase in size but once they get going, as long as they have a plentiful supply of food and water, they generally grow at a staggering rate of knots.

In the past I have kept an almost daily, photographic record of growth for the Mudlet pumpkin growing contest. Sometimes the fruit will grow to a certain size and then stop which is very frustrating but the ones that are set on World domination, can look spectacular in next to no time.

So, for a bit of fun and simply because I just love the Winter Squash family, I’m going to try and do the same here and I’m starting off with the:

Anna Swartz Hubbard Squash:

I think the Hubbard Squash is about at full size now and so that gallery will not be updated from now (unless of course I’m wrong and the squash grows even bigger). The squash has grown bigger and is now (18th August or 32 days), 1 foot long and is developing the wrinkles and warts that make this an attractively ugly squash, if you see what I mean.

Cheyenne Bush Pumpkin

This has actually been quite a frustrating year in terms of pumpkins because of the 6 pumpkins that pollinated and began to grow, to date this is the only one that hasn’t rotted on the vine! I have no idea what caused the others to just give up and wither but these things just happen. We do now have a second ‘orange’ sized fruit growing on another plant, so fingers crossed for that one. Unfortunately, I haven’t managed to grow a ‘saved seed’ pumpkin this year but there is always next year.

So here we have it what finally looks to be a successfully pollinated pumpkin:

Of course if any of the featured Squashes/Pumpkins, decide to stop growing then I’ll delete the relevant gallery but in the mean time I’ll be updating it every other day or so and I’ll be adding another Hubbard and another of the pumpkins that look to have started growing but I’m not entirely sure, in the next day or so.

The following Cheyenne Bush pumpkin proves how frustrating growing pumpkins and squash can be. It was originally one of the featured ‘successfully pollinated’ ones but, as is often the case, for some reason, 2 weeks in it stopped growing and is now very soft. I will take it off the plant later to stimulate more female flowers – I hope. This pumpkin reached the size of a large orange before it keeled over.

15 thoughts on “Squash and Pumpkins growing (weekly update)

  1. fabulous progress here. I have a few dotted around. I only hope and wish that they do get pollinated. Have known a fair few to wither and cease to exist as they haven’t been pollinated. That is always a dispointment!

    • Thank you. I know what you mean about the disappointment of Squash/Pumpkins. The number of times we have had one that grows to between lemon or grapefruit size and then stops for no apparent reason! Very frustrating.

  2. What a great idea. I’m always amazed how my courgettes can grow over night or during a day away at work. They seem to defy any law of reasonable vegetable growing rate.

  3. What a fab idea! glad to see your Cheyenne bush pumpkins are doing well, mine seem to be but as I planted them along with sweet corn and sunflowers, it’s a little hard to locate them!

  4. Awesome. Are you growing the squash in containers?

    • Thank you. Only 2 of the Anna Swartz Hubbard squash plants are in tubs with the rest of the Pumpkins and Squash plants dotted around the garden in various beds. It just happens that the ones in the half barrels were the first to flower and set fruit.

      • Ah. I am growing Anna Swartz Hubbard this year too. A first for me. The ones over at the community garden plot are of mammoth size. The stem on one of them must be a couple inches in diameter! Hope they are tasty. šŸ™‚

        • I’ve noticed on the Anna Swartz squash which are growing on the ground (as opposed to those suspended in the air for which I may need to devise a support net) that there are roots growing out of the stem from behind the fruit which I’m assuming is to acquire as much food and water as possible. I have never seen this on any of the squash or pumpkins I have grown before.

          Good luck with your plants šŸ™‚

  5. I love squash, they make me feel like the SUPER Gardner while they are producing. Great pics!

  6. Hi, I am interested to know if you pollinate by hand as I have lots of flowers but no fruit. These look great.

    • I always hand pollinate, although we have plenty of bees and hoverflies about happy to undertake the job and usually this helps to ensure a respectable number of mixed winter squashes and pumpkins. This year, however, the success rate has been dreadful with many female flowers either not successfully pollinated OR appearing to pollinate but the squash/pumpkins failing a week or so in, despite feeding and watering. I feel lucky to have the 2 Hubbards and a pumpkin (possibly 2 pumpkins)

      The cobnuts and butternuts have been really late to flower, in my garden, and only in the last two days have two more cobnuts started to grow and, fingers crossed, a butternut but it really is late and they may well not have time to ripen on the vine.

      The other Hubbard plants are also only just now producing females and I do wonder if the prolonged spring cold snap has had a more detrimental affect than I first realised.

      Never mind, there is always next year when, with my trusty little paint brush in hand, I’ll start the whole process again šŸ™‚

      The joys of growing your own I guess šŸ™‚

Please feel free to leave a comment and I'll respond as soon as I can

