The Land Rover Owners Wife

Gardening Club: Fungi galore

5 Comments

The base of the apple tree

The base of the apple tree

With school on the half term break, a busy weekend and dreadful weather, yesterday was the first time since last Friday that I was able to pop over and check on the school garden and polytunnel.

I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect but I was fairly confident that there would be some split tomatoes in the raised beds, due to the amount of rain which had fallen and some runner beans bordering on being too stringy to use but in both cases I was pleasantly surprise with only one defunct tomato and some long but tender runner beans ready to pick.

In other beds several of the plants were definitely ready for composting but others were still looking healthy and happily growing. Some of the pears had been blown off the tree but a quick examination seemed to indicate that these were only recent casualties of the weather, as there were no holes or bruise to be seen and so I decided to pick the windfalls up and take the remaining fruit off the tree. I’ll keep these at home until school reopens on Monday, at which point they will be handed over for use as snacks.

And a bit further along in the flower border

And a bit further along in the flower border

It was on the walk up to the polytunnel entrance that I had the biggest surprise of all: several large clumps of fungi had materiaiised in the flower/shrub border and around the base of the apple tree. I was stunned, as I am sure there wasn’t a sign of any of these last week and I can only assume that the sudden onslaught of wet and colder weather had triggered the speedy growth of these clumps.

A quick survey of the area immediately around the borders revealed more fungi, either in clumps or growing independently and I am now worried about what types we have and whether or not they are also growing in the flower beds around the playground areas of the school.

I will have to ask the Head to get someone in to look at the fungi and next time I’m checking the vegetable patch I will also take a look around the other beds. Whilst quite an alarming sight, the clumps by the vegetable patch aren’t easily accessible by the children as the vegetable garden is within the inner security gates. However, the beds bordering the playground are often trampled on, as the children recover balls, bean bags and other play equipment and so could be more of a potential health hazard.

In the meantime I’ve posted a couple of pictures taken of the more spectacular looking clumps.

5 thoughts on “Gardening Club: Fungi galore

  1. I love that the children get to eat the home grown produce.

  2. I thought we had a few fungi in our garden but not like that!

  3. It seems a bumper year for fungus – just wish I knew which were edible and which best avoided.

Please feel free to leave a comment and I'll respond as soon as I can

