The Land Rover Owners Wife

Toad in the hole

3 Comments

Golden brown and risen to perfection ..... even if I do say so myself.

Golden brown and risen to perfection ….. even if I do say so myself.

So what could I do to make sausages more interesting, was the question I asked myself when groans were the only response that greeted my announcement of ‘sausages for tea’. Then I remembered a comment which had been posted on Muds’ blog the other day and ‘Toad-the -hole’ sprang to mind. With roast potatoes, veg and gravy it ticked all the boxes.

I browned 6 sausages in my frying pan and whilst these were browning I put a generous knob of lard into my 8″ byย 20″ roasting tin which I then placed into my very hot Rayburn.

Over the years I have tried out many Toad-in-the-hole recipes to try and find the perfect batter but nowadays I use my normal Yorkshire pudding batter recipe (Delia Smiths actually) for Toad-in-the-hole. This generally works brilliantly and this latest offering was no exception.

So for the batter:

6 oz plain flour
salt & pepper to taste
2 eggs beaten
6 fl oz cold milk
4 fl oz cold water

NB: These quantities are double the original recipe but 1 portion wouldn’t be sufficient to fill my roasting tine.

Sift the flour into bowl/jug, season and then make a well in the centre of the flour and add the eggs. Pour on the milk/water mix and best together thoroughly.

Once browned cut sausages in half, remove the roasting tin from the oven and arrange the sausage halves evenly across the tin before pouring on the batter. Then get the tin back into the oven as quickly as possible and leave to bake for 40-50 minutes or until the batter is golden brown and as crisp as you like it.

Yummy!

3 thoughts on “Toad in the hole

  1. Wow!… That looks SOOO good!
    What do you think the oven temp was??
    I’m so hungry right now… I could eat a REAL toad ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks Chuck,

      For the batter to rise properly the temp has to be above 200 degrees C and preferably 220. The oven was at about 210 degrees when I made this one.

      Our old Greyhound caught a toad once …….. and avoided them like the plague after that ๐Ÿ˜Š I’ve never seen THAT particular look on a dogs face before ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜‰

      Hope you had a good weekend.

      x

  2. We’re a great fan of sausages here. Especially thick tasty butchers ones. I’ve never pulled of a toad in the hole successfully. I’m thinking my oven’s not been hot enough.
    Looks wonderful.

Please feel free to leave a comment and I'll respond as soon as I can

