The Land Rover Owners Wife

King Cole top in Cobalt: back

9 Comments

I love the fact that the sleeves are knitted with the back and front panels

I love the fact that the sleeves are knitted with the back and front panels

Sunday afternoon and I have been busy knitting away at the back of my top for several hours over the last couple of days and I have made good headway. Using the Creme Egg scale of measure that Claire from Mollie&Claire invented (patent pending), I can now demonstrate that one round of the 10 row pattern is, in fact, equivalent to the length of a standard sized Creme Egg, more or less.

I would like to point out at this juncture that it is my belief that had I used this scale 15 – 20 years ago, one egg would probably equaled 20 rows of knit.

But I digress, as usual, so back to my knitting.

This pattern itself is incredibly easy, although at one point I had to take a break when I realised that I needed to pull a significant section of row 9 back for the second time, due to forgetting to make the second loop between knit stitches. I figured that I was probably a little fatigued and that a rest was needed.

A close up of the 10 row pattern

A close up of the 10 row pattern

A really nice bonus for me is that with this pattern, the sleeves are knitted with the back and front panels, by casting on 7 stitches at the start of 4 consecutive rows, adding an additional 28 stitches in total, 14 to each side. This is particularly pleasing for me, as I hate putting sleeves in and so anything that negates the need to do this is fine by me.

I’ll do another progress report in a few days but sadly, this will be without the aid of the measuring tool, it appears to have met with a little accident ………

9 thoughts on “King Cole top in Cobalt: back

  1. Hahahaha!! Brilliant. I shall have to use it every time from now on! Til Easter at any rate.

  2. PPS there are many measuring tools in the shops so there really isn’t an excuse for not having one to hand! πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰

Please feel free to leave a comment and I'll respond as soon as I can

