The Land Rover Owners Wife

A piece of cake

Leave a comment

Afternoon tea

Afternoon tea

With the Mudlets safely deposited at school, I turned my attention to a most pressing matter – what on earth could I make to put into their pack ups. It needed to be something quick but scrumptious and if I could make it chocolately as well, then all to the good.

The Mudlets packed lunches are quite simple really consisting, as they do, of a sandwich/buttered crackers/or some form of savoury pastry, yoghurt, crisps , a sweet treat such as a piece of cake, bun or chocolate biscuit and sometimes a piece of fruit. The girls tend to eat plenty of fruit as snack items anyway, so I don’t always put some in for their lunch.

A chocolate tray bake was the simplest and quickest option

A chocolate tray bake was the simplest and quickest option

Today, however I knew that we were short of the sweet treat and so it was out with my scales, mixing bowl and a selection of ingredients from my baking cupboard and I set to work.

White chocolate topping

White chocolate topping

I decided that the easiest and quickest thing to make was a basic chocolate tray bake and it took me less than 10 minutes to combine the ingredients needed for one and then it was into the oven for 40 minutes. I used a basic Victoria Sandwich recipe for this bake, as it is one I know by heart and so saves time. It is also a straightforward recipe to follow: 6oz of everything (self raising flour, margerine, caster sugar and eggs), into a bowl and mixed together until combined. For a chocolate variant, I substitute 1 oz of the flour with 1 oz of cocoa.

Into my greased and lined baking tray and there you have it – 30 to 40 minutes later (180c/350f and gas mark 4), a lovely chocolate tray bake.

Once cooled, I split the sponge in two and spread white chocolate butter icing over one half before replacing the top of the sponge which I then covered with the rest of the white chocolate. I cut it into squares and the Mudlets found two small squares each in their pack ups.

One cake and two happy Mudlets, can’t ask for better than that really.

Please feel free to leave a comment and I'll respond as soon as I can

