The Land Rover Owners Wife

Poisoned Ivy

Leave a comment

Some of the leaves are starting to look a little brown around the edges

Some of the leaves are starting to look a little brown around the edges

Well it’s been a few weeks since I first dosed the troublesome Ivy plant with white wine vinegar. There hasn’t been the instantaneous shrivelling up that I half hoped for but there are definite signs that the combined efforts of three doses of the vinegar are starting to pay dividends.

IvyThat said we still have a way to go and I plan to spray the Ivy again in the next couple of days but I am quite optimistic that eventually this treatment will work and so far I’ve used only part of the original bottle of the vinegar I bought for the purpose.

I have been cautious and careful during spraying because I don’t want to see off other plants such as the gorgeous purple Vinca that is also in that bed but when push comes to shove, the Ivy has to go for the sake of the house.

I will keep you updated as to what if any progress had been made and my fingers are well and truly crossed that vinegar turns out to be stronger than Ivy.

Please feel free to leave a comment and I'll respond as soon as I can

