The Land Rover Owners Wife

Leek and potato soup

5 Comments

Freshly pulled leeks taste so different to shop bought

Freshly pulled leeks taste so different to shop bought

It was a little on the chilly side yesterday and even in the house I was feeling every little bit of chill and so I figured that outside in the home office (which has little in the way of insulation and even less heating), Mud would probably be frozen to the bone. So as lunchtime approached, I turned my attention to what to make.

Something warm was definitely in order.

Pulled, prepared, cooked and ready to eat in less than 1 hour

Pulled, prepared, cooked and ready to eat in less than 1 hour

As I went about my house wifely tasks, I happened upon my two tubs of leeklings which have been living on the window sill in the bathroom which is generally the coldest room in our house. It quickly became apparent that even in this prime location, the seedlings weren’t happy and so I decided to move them outside, under the protective but uninsulated cover of one of the grow houses and that’s when inspiration hit me, I could make a leek and potato soup using some of last years leeks which have been overwintering in the vegetable beds.

Surveying the two dozen or so leeks, I pulled five of the largest (not that any of them have achieved much in the way of height or girth) and brought them inside. Grabbing an onion and a handful of potatoes (both shop bought at this time of the year) I washed, peeled and sliced before throwing all the vegetables into a large saucepan to sweat down in some olive oil.

A pint of vegetable stock, salt and pepper soon joined the veggies, followed 20 minutes later by a splash of double cream. Less than an hour after I had pulled the leeks,  Mud walked into a bowlful of warming and tasty, homemade soup. Sorted.

Ingredients (serves two generously):

1 tablespoon of oil (I used olive oil but vegetable oil will suffice)
5 small to medium sized leeks, thinly sliced
8oz of potatoes peeled and cubed
1/2 large onion, sliced
1 Pint of vegetable stock
salt and pepper to taste
A dash of double cream

Method:

Heat the oil in a large saucepan
Add the onion, potatoes and leeks and cook until the onion is soft and translucent
Pour on the stock and season to taste
Cook until the vegetables are soft
Blend or mash until your preferred consistency is reached
Add the cream and heat gently until hot but NOT boiling
Serve with crusty rolls.

5 thoughts on “Leek and potato soup

  1. One of my favourite soups, leek and potato.
    Random question – could you recommend a mild rocket seed variety for direct sowing? I love rocket but all the ones I’ve sown have been too strong in taste to eat in vast quantities so it usually runs to seed. The rocket you buy in the supermarket or you get in a rocket salad in the pub is much milder. I would love to grow this.

    • Morning Lucie,

      I’ve never grown a mild rocket and wonder if the less peppery shop produce is more down to the processing, handling and storage than a particular variety.

      Have you considered growing rocket in pots, sowing a few seeds in another pot every week to try for a controlled, steady supply through out the year?

      That way you can snip a few leaves from the oldest pot as needed and it won’t matter as much if a pot starts to run to seed.

  2. That sounds really good. I have a few leeks growing, so maybe we can try this. This is the first time I have grown them. In your picture there is the dark green leafy part (which is what I see in my garden. Are the lighter green and white sections below ground? Or do I need to let my leeks grow more?

    • The whiter and light green areas are under the ground. The amount of white you get depends entirely on how deep you planted your leeks.

      That said you can increase the amount of white by preventing the sun reaching the leaves. Some people do this by earthing up, much as you would with potatoes but as more leaves develop and remembering that leek leaves grow from the outside, the issue becomes mud trapped between the layers which could result in quite a lot of wastage during food prep.

      I tend to plant my leeks deep to start with but I have also used the cardboard inners from toilet rolls, kitchen towels, kitchen foil rolls etc, to block the sun. I guess 6 inch lengths of plastic pipe would work well to.

      You simply pop the tube (cut the longer kitchen paper or foil inners to length) over each leek, making sure all the leaves have come through the centre of the tube. Obviously if using pipe then the expected diameter of your leeks need to be taken into account when choosing the diameter of the pipe.

      Hope that helps 🙂

Please feel free to leave a comment and I'll respond as soon as I can

