The Land Rover Owners Wife

Stripey Jumper in King Cole Flash: the front

Leave a comment

For all that the yarn is a multi-shade one, I think the stripes have appeared surprisingly evenly.

For all that the yarn is a multi-shade one, I think the stripes have appeared surprisingly evenly.

I don’t normally enjoy knitting in plain old stocking stitch and yet with this project I find that it’s kind of relaxing and therapeutic to not have to worry about a complicated pattern and I am quite happy to sit back and watch the variations of colour through the yarn, do all the hard work for me. That said, and as mentioned in my previous post on this jumper, I did incorporate quite a large section of a simple lace detail into the pattern which I think works quite well.

For all that it is a 100% Acrylic yarn (albeit a premium acrylic what ever on earth that means), it is knitting up beautifully and feels pleasant to work with. I am always a bit concerned about the overall feel of a 100% man made yarn, as, in my experience, some of them are quite harsh to touch and not at all nice to use but the yarn Middle Mudlet chose for her jumper, feels soft and should be comfortable to wear.

Close up of the improvised lace section

Close up of the improvised lace section

Another plus for this yarn is the even distribution of the different shades and colours through its’ length which has created an attractive striping on the actual work itself. I look forward to seeing how the finished garment looks and I know Middle Mudlet is as anxious as I am to get it finished ….. then it’s Eldest Mudlets turn.

Please feel free to leave a comment and I'll respond as soon as I can

