The Land Rover Owners Wife

Snug as a bug in a rug (well fleece actually)

Leave a comment

Full flower and heavily scented, the Jasmin ehas been relocated to the greenhouse to prepare it for life outdoors.

Full flower and heavily scented, the Jasmine has been relocated to the greenhouse to prepare it for life outdoors.

The trouble with squash and pumpkin plants, is that even as newly emerged, one or two day old seedlings, they take up rather a lot of room. Also, in my experience, the larger the fruit is expected to be, the larger the leaves on the seedling seem to be when it first emerges, not to mention the true leaves are when they begin to form and the stem length. So with just under a dozen or so squash and pumpkin seedlings on the verge of taking over the hall, I decided I’d best pot them and my 4 cucumber seedlings on, before relocating them to the large greenhouse.

Of course it won’t have escaped your notice that we’re still in March and that frost and generally very cold weather is still a very real possibility. With this, the knowledge that potting on was fast becoming a matter of urgency and that the subsequent housing of the larger pots could only involve the greenhouse, I headed into town in search of fleece……

……. and ended up with a 1.5m x 8m roll of fleece from Wilkinsons, for which I paid £3.50 and whilst I was there I treated myself to a pack of two potato growing bags which I thought was a snip at just £2.25.

Snug as a bug under the fleece

Snug as a bug under the fleece

So last night (Thursday) my newly repotted seedlings were snug as a bug under a double layer of fleece and this morning they look as perky as a newly repotted seedling can look, baring in mind their tendency to sulk for a couple of days after being subjected to the potting on process.

Last years strawberry runners are looking good.

Last years strawberry runners are looking good.

Also out in the greenhouse last years strawberry runners are, for the most part, looking nice and healthy, with lots of fresh green growth. As can be seen from the picture, I still need to remove old growth and this is also true of the more mature plants which have wintered outside.

Stupice tomatoes in the back fow and more squash seeds sown in front

Stupice tomatoes in the back fow and more squash seeds sown in front

Back inside and the three Stupice tomatoes which have been living on my seed drawers have been repotted into larger pots and, being too big for the drawers now, have moved into the hallway. Two Stupice and a Chocolate Cherry tomato seedling from a second sowing have now been repotted from the seed tray and are the new residents of the drawers. The remaining second sowing Chocolate Cherry seedlings have also been potted on but are in the hallway.

Mothers Day gift: ultra fine insect netting

Mothers Day gift: ultra fine insect netting

With space now available in the hall, I’ve sown the last of my Hunter Butternut Squash seeds (a Mothers Day gift last year) as only 1 of the 4 seeds I planted a couple of weeks ago, germinated. In addition I also planted 4 Winter Squash Hokkaido and 4 Courgette All Green Bush, the latter of which performed dismally last year.

One further move was the Jasmine which relocated from the hall into the large greenhouse and my day was made by the arrival of my Mothers Day present …. 2m x 6m of a green, ultra fine insect netting. Sunday (weather permitting) should see me out sowing carrot, parsnip and beetroot seed. Lettuce seedlings will join them in due course, protected by the new netting and (if needed) a blanket of fleece.

Please feel free to leave a comment and I'll respond as soon as I can

