The Land Rover Owners Wife

Stripey jumper in King Cole Flash: the back

2 Comments

Nice and stripey: front and back

Nice and stripey: front and back

It’s springtime and the gardener in me is jumping for joy, revelling in compost, seeds and seedlings. I am planning the planting of my tubs and beds, carefully nurturing those seedlings that have migrated to the greenhouse, tucking them in under fleece at night, uncovering them come morning.

In the kitchen the miniature pool table has once more become a temporary nursery and potting station, chitting potatoes adorn the window sills, alongside propagators and yet more seedlings …….

……. and for the last couple of weeks, sitting forlorn and dejected, on the kitchen worktop, in full view, positioned for maximum guilt generation, the back section of Middle Mudlets stripey jumper, or to be entirely honest, the first 25 rows of the back section.

The back neck stitches safe on a stitch holder

The back neck stitches safe on a stitch holder

However, it’s amazing what a difference a couple of days can make and this morning I finally got the back section finished and cast on the first sleeve. As with the front section, a few stitches have been left on a stitch holder and these will eventually form the back of the neck band.

The striping on the finished sections is really quite even and balanced but it will be interesting to see how the sleeves knit up. I also need to give some thought as to how I can incorporate the lace columns into the stitch count but for now I have some more seeds to sow ….. I’ll work the pattern out tomorrow morning, whilst my mind is fresh and before the trials and tribulations of day two of the Easter break wreaks havoc with my patience and stress levels!

2 thoughts on “Stripey jumper in King Cole Flash: the back

  1. Coming on great. I love how this yarn is working. Really nice stripes.

Please feel free to leave a comment and I'll respond as soon as I can

