The Land Rover Owners Wife

Mangetout, Bijou

4 Comments

This is a record of how long this particular set of seeds took to germinate and how they looked at various stages from first appearance to the development of the first set of true leaves and beyond. I hope this will prove useful.

Variety: Bijou (RSC)
Sown indoors: 8th April 2014
First Seedling: 11th April 2014
Germination: 3 days
Germination ratio: 5/5 seeds sown

I am particularly excited about this variety of mangetout. I have never grown it before but it purports to produce pods of around 7 inches in length, or, to put it another way, the height of an average coffee mug. I can hardly wait to see these gigantic pods.

11th April: Newly emerged

Mangetout Bijou12th April: Same seedling 24 hours later

Mangetout Bijou

13th April: Now 2 days old

Mangetout Bijou

14th April: and 1 day later

Mangetout

11th May: 1 month on and the mangetout are ready to be planted out. They have been living in the bubble wrapped greenhouse for two weeks and have thrived.

Mangetout Bijou

18th May: The seedlings were planted out against a bamboo wigwam

Mangetout Bijou

14th June: The first of the flowers are open.

Mangetout Bijou

23rd June: I had to double check the length these are meant to grow too because at 4.5 INCHES long, I thought that it would surely be ready to pick …… nope, approximately 2.5 inches more growth needed, to reach the optimum length of 7 inches!!!

Mangetout Bijou

4 thoughts on “Mangetout, Bijou

  1. You’ve documented their growth much better than I have, well done. I’m so made up that my seeds have come through to now be flowering. I’ve got two pods already and the rate at which they’re growing is fantastic. But more than that, I feel responsible and proud because they’re nearly extinct or so I’ve read. I’m chuffed. Even if I don’t eat the produce I’m proud, I’m definitely going to share the seeds because they should be everywhere! Bit of a geeky post but not many people get how excited I am πŸ˜€

    • Hi Kerry,

      Thank you so much for your kind comment and apologies for the delay in replying.

      The Bijou were a sight to see but, to be honest, as a family who loves Mangetout, we never really enjoyed them as much as the smaller varieties. You can be as geeky as you like here – you should see the reaction I get when I start waxing lyrical about a particularly good batch of homemade compost πŸ˜€

      • Ooooh you’ve got to love a good old compost. What a rock and roll bunch we are! I’m loving becoming a proper gardening geek! Long may it continue.

        I might have to try some different mangetout next season to compare but at the least I think I’ll grow them to show friend’s children and for the flowers πŸ™‚

        • If you can get them and you’re not too worried about quantity, then try Golden Sweet (which are also on my seed to seedling list somewhere). They are the same size as but sweeter than a standard green mangetout such as Oregon Sugar Pod but the flowers and pods are really pretty. They can also add an interesting contrast to salads, stir fries etc if grown and served with a green variety πŸ™‚

          Ohhh and on the subject of geekiness, I can highly recommend beer traps strategically placed at regular intervals around your veg patch for catching and drowning slugs! I forgot to sink one of my quarter filled, half sized jam jars into the ground a week or so ago and a dozen of the slimy things still crawled up and into the jar to get to the beer πŸ˜€

Please feel free to leave a comment and I'll respond as soon as I can

