The Land Rover Owners Wife

Cabbage, Winter Jewel

2 Comments

This is a record of how long this particular set of seeds took to germinate and how they looked at various stages from first appearance to the development of the first set of true leaves and beyond. I hope this will prove useful.

Variety: Winter Jewel
Sown indoors: 27 July 2014
First Seedling: 1st August 2014
Germination: 5 days

Cabbage Winter

14th August:

Cabbage Winter Jewel

20th August:

Cabbage Winter Jewel I am beginning to think I am doomed where the brassica family is concerned. These seedlings seemed to stall at about three inches high and then something attacked them. I have no idea what but the upshot is that I will not be growing anything over winter, other than the parsnips, carrots and leeks which are already in the ground. I will try these again next year though.

2 thoughts on “Cabbage, Winter Jewel

  1. Last year, my entire crop of Cabbage Winterjewel (~20 plants) was wiped out by the maggots of the cabbage root fly. It was really surprising how the entire crop was affected at the same time. Although this is unlikely to be the cause of your seedlings wilting, it’s still worthwhile examining their root system.

    • Thanks Keithy. I’ve given up trying to grow brassicas in my home garden, as they take up too much space. I didn’t see any signs of maggots when I finally pulled this particular crop and think it might be that my soil was too ‘new’ and not compacted enough for them to thrive, if that makes any sense 🙂

Please feel free to leave a comment and I'll respond as soon as I can

