The Land Rover Owners Wife

Saving the Seeds: Cherokee Trail of Tears Pole Beans

Leave a comment

The pod is starting to change colour

The pod is starting to change colour

Another of the most exciting events of this years growing season was when the Cherokee Trail of Tears Pole Bean seeds I saved last year, germinated and grew a few strong plants, although quite a lot more failed to appear at all. I suspect this was due to the fact that I had waited to later on in the season before selecting pods to dry out which meant that the plants were tired and the seeds weren’t as healthy as they could have been. This year I let some of the first pods go to seed and the end result has been worth it with a lovely crop of healthy looking black seeds to store for next year. As with the Runner beans, later in the season my excitement knew no bounds when I saw the first flower and the sense of achievement I felt when I spotted the first tiny bean was huge.

Two weeks after the first picture was taken and the pod was a lovely deep purple colour and feeling slightly papery to touch:

Pole Bean Cherokee Trail of Tears for seed

Five days later and the first three seed pods were ready for picking:

Pole Bean Cherokee Trail of Tears for seed

Little Mudlet held the pod open so that I could show you the beautiful, healthy black beans/seeds inside:

Pole Bean Cherokee Trail of Tears for seed 20140902 (2)

Please feel free to leave a comment and I'll respond as soon as I can

