The Land Rover Owners Wife

Red Tomato Chutney

4 Comments

Let's hope it tastes as good as it looks

Let’s hope it tastes as good as it looks

With my very larger platter of freshly picked tomatoes full to over flowing and in spite of the combined efforts of the Mudlets’ to  reduce the numbers to more manageable levels, I realised that something had to be done and after careful consideration, decided to try my hand at making a Tomato Chutney. With recipe to hand, I checked my cupboards and realised that I had everything I needed and so it was that a short while later I found myself washing and chopping 1.3kg of mixed red tomatoes.

My chopped red tomatoes: Stupice and Amish paste

My chopped red tomatoes: Stupice and Amish paste

The chopped tomatoes went into a large pan, along with 150g of chopped onion and was set to simmer for half an hour until the tomatoes and onions were soft.

Sugar, vinegar and spices.

Sugar, vinegar and spices.

Next 12 g and salt, one teaspoon of paprika, half a teaspoon of cayenne powder (my home grown and ground powder) and 75ml of malt vinegar was added to the pan and thoroughly mixed in. The pan was then left to simmer for another 45 minutes, until it had reduced slightly and had begun to thicken.

Sterilised jars at the ready

Sterilised jars at the ready

Next 175g of sugar and another 75ml of the vinegar was added and the mixture was stirred until the sugar had dissolved, before being left to continue simmering until the mixture had thickened some more. This took about another 40 minutes but I didn’t want the chutney to set hard, I was looking for a slightly looser consistency.

Once the chutney was starting to look like it was thickening nicely, I took out half a dozen jars, placed them into the sink and filled them to over flowing with boiling water out of the kettle. I also filled the jar lids with boiling water and left them sitting with the water still in as I went back out to collect the pan (remember I’m cooking on the barbeque outside at the moment).

Not too thick but hopefully thick enough!

Not too thick but hopefully thick enough!

I emptied the jars one by one and filled them with the finished chutney and immediately put the lid on. As the mixture cooled down, the safety button on the top of each lid depressed again, indicating that a seal had been achieved. The jars will now be left for at least 6 weeks to mature and I hope that at the end of the process, we will have a lovely tasty chutney to have over the Festive period ….. rather than passata!

4 thoughts on “Red Tomato Chutney

  1. Whilst many homemade chutneys are not to everyone’s taste I’m sure, once mature, this won’t be around for long!

  2. Sounds good to me and admirable that you make it on the barbecue and with your own cayenne. Hope it’s lusciously thick when you open it.

Please feel free to leave a comment and I'll respond as soon as I can

