The Land Rover Owners Wife

A bit of squash (and other things)

1 Comment

The nearest propagator houses the winter squash and pumpkin seeds and the other is home to the flowers and courgettes.

The nearest propagator houses the winter squash and pumpkin seeds and the other is home to the flowers and courgettes.

As a result of my potting on, I suddenly found myself with a load of empty propagators and windowsills which could only mean one thing…. time to sow a load more seeds! I rifled through my seed drawers and to my absolute glee, realised that it was time to start sowing my winter squash and pumpkin seeds.

I love growing winter squash and pumpkins. They look amazing in the garden with their huge leaves and bright yellow flowers and, in a good growing season, once the fruits have set, they grow at such an amazing speed, especially the pumpkins, it’s almost like a scene from Jack and the Beanstalk. Of all the vegetables I grow, the winter squash and pumpkins are my favourites both in terms of appearance and storage capabilities, plus they look pretty good as part of our Halloween display and the winter squashes are a firm favourite in respect of taste with the whole of Mudville.

In recent years I’ve tried different varieties from a seed bank, with a view to ultimately saving my own seed for future use but these varieties have, for the most part, failed and so this year I have reverted back to seed produced by more commercial means with the exception of one variety which is from seed saved by a friend and fellow grower. So currently (hopefully) germinating in one of my windowsill propagators I have:

  • 6 x Winter Squash “High Sugar Mix F1” which I have grown successfully before and is a mixed pack of 3 or 4 different Winter Squash varieties, thereby adding a bit of mystery to the proceedings because until the plants start to fruit a few months down the line, I won’t know which of the varieties I’ve sown:
  • 6 x Pumpkin “Jack O’Lantern” which was one of my Mothers Day gifts and will, with luck, provide us with some decent sized pumpkins for Halloween;
  • 6 x Pumpkin “Invincible” which was another Mothers Day gift but these are a white skinned pumpkin and I have no clue to how big they will grow but, regardless, they will hopefully provide a bit of variety to the Halloween display in October; and
  • 6 x Pumpkin “Sweetie Pie” from saved seed and produces a small yet sweet pumpkin and is, apparently, very good for cooking with.
Sweet Corn seeds are in the lidded propagator and next door are the second sowing seedlings, I considered too small for potting on with the rest.

Sweet Corn seeds are in the lidded propagator and next door are the second sowing seedlings, I considered too small for potting on with the rest.

The last module in this particular windowsill propagator is populated with another of the seeds from my Mothers Day haul: 6 x Melon “Pepito“, the growing of which will be a sharp learning curve, as I believe Melon can be a touch tricky to grow.

Next to the squashes, is another of my windowsill propagators but this one is, for the most part, filled with flower seeds (more Mothers Day gifts) although I did squeeze my Courgettes in there too. So in Windowsill propagator number two we have:

  • 12 x Marigold “Marionette Mix“;
  • 18 x Delphinium “Magic Fountains Mixed“;
  • Cottage Garden “Border Perennial Mix“;
  • Sweet Williams “Early Summer Scented“; and
  • 6 x Courgette “Black Beauty“.

I also sowed 10 Sweet Corn “Minipop F1” seeds and 30 of my saved seed Sweet Corn “Special Swiss” into one of my recently emptied, 40 module seed tray inserts which is now sitting in one of the small propagators, on the kitchen windowsill, next to the last few chilli seedlings which were from my second sowing and weren’t quite big enough for potting on last week.

So now were back to the waiting game and four days on, I can announce that the first of the Marigolds are through but, as yet, the Squashes and Pumpkins are still hidden from view, hopefully developing their first vital root and shoot.

 

One thought on “A bit of squash (and other things)

  1. Looks like you’re en route to a bumper crop of goodies!

Please feel free to leave a comment and I'll respond as soon as I can

