The Land Rover Owners Wife

Baby jacket and hat in Marble DK

4 Comments

A slightly unusual colour choice but it works really well

A slightly unusual colour choice but it works really well

With one of the teachers at school due to go on maternity leave in a couple of weeks, I’ve taken a few days off from my gorgeous lace top and, instead, have focused on making this lovely little jacket and hat for her baby boy.

A view of the back

A view of the back

The jacket pattern was a freebee from Deramores (you do have to sign up for newsletter if you haven’t already done so) and the hat is based on a standard pattern that I already had.

I had enough spare yarn to add a little hat.

I had enough spare yarn to add a little hat.

The yarn is a James C Brett, 100% acrylic called Baby Marble DK and is shade BM5. I really liked it when I saw it in a local shop, although it is an unusual combination for a baby but I knitted this in size 6-12 months which means that the little boy will be wearing this late Autumn to Winter and I think the colours are very warm and cozy looking. In addition, the yarn has a lovely soft feel. The colour distribution has worked out really well, with a pleasing stripe/banding effect and overall I am really happy with the finished items.

This was a nice little diversion from my complicated lace top which I’m looking forward to finishing over the next week or so.

4 thoughts on “Baby jacket and hat in Marble DK

  1. What a gorgeous wee jacket

  2. Thank you. I love it ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Really like the colour!

Please feel free to leave a comment and I'll respond as soon as I can

