The Land Rover Owners Wife

Wendy Lace Edge Top in bluebird: finished

1 Comment

Wendy Lace Edged TopMaking up the finished top was actually quite hard, as I tried to match the patterns front and back along the seam but it didn’t take me too long and I soon found myself tidying up the loose ends. I was surprised to see that the pattern leaflet didn’t call for blocking at all and didn’t show any finished measurements other than the usual ‘actual measurement’ section, in the size table.

Painstakingly, I pinned each pair of points.

Painstakingly, I pinned each pair of points.

However, due to the complexity of the pattern, I decided that the finished look would benefit from a night under damp tea towels and so I spent 30 minutes or so pinning the top on to a doubled over bath sheet, taking extra care to match the lace points on the front to the corresponding ones on the back section, to achieve a more defined edge. Once the tea towels were in place, the whole thing was left to dry out over night and I was really pleased with the overall finish.

Colour matched nail polish to celebrate.

Colour matched nail polish to celebrate.

My only thought, as I proudly tried my new top on, was that I may be should have made the next size down but I really like the colour, shape and pattern and (following on from the tradition set by Claire from Mollie and Claire), I even donned a coat of colour matched nail polish to celebrate.

One thought on “Wendy Lace Edge Top in bluebird: finished

  1. Yes, this looks really good. You are very patient – pinning and blocking. I’m afraid I often skip that bit when making up. Full marks to you for dedication!

Please feel free to leave a comment and I'll respond as soon as I can

