The Land Rover Owners Wife

A sea of flowers

2 Comments

The Clematis hasn't looked this good in years and ahs an abundance of flowers waiting to open.

The Clematis hasn’t looked this good in years and has an abundance of flowers waiting to open.

Over on the back fence of the garden, lives a Clematis that the girls gave to Mud for Fathers Day about 7 years or so ago. It has lived in a few different locations but was moved to this particular spot some 5 years or so ago, when it looked like it was on its’ last legs and hadn’t survived the winter. It’s never really done brilliantly beyond that first year but I am not one to give up on plants easily and it did keep throwing out the odd flower or five but never really more than that…… until, that is, this year. For some reason, this year, the Clematis has surpassed itself, looks healthier than ever before (I never trim it back) and has thrown out no less than 16 flowers (approximately 10 cm across when open), at the last count! So I felt it deserved top billing in a post about flowers.

Waiting their turn to be re-potted

Just a few of the re-potted perennials

Meanwhile, over in the little green house, my Mothers Day seeds have paid dividends, in terms of viable seedlings and whilst not exactly a sea of flowers just yet, given time, they promise an abundance of colour, to brighten the dullest of days. I wasn’t entirely sure just how many of the ‘Cottage Garden Border Perrennial Mix’ would germinate, when I sowed them way back in March but I was pleasantly surprised and just 5 weeks later found myself potting on dozens of little seedlings, along with the Sweet Williams, Marigolds and Dwarf Delphiniums seedlings which were also part of my Mothers Day haul, as was the ‘Birds, Bees and Butterflies‘ Wild Flower mix which is currently growing nicely in the old sink.

Lupins, Delphiniums, Marigolds and a couple of unknowns

Lupins, Delphiniums, Marigolds, Sweet Williams and Black Eyed Susans.

But back to the Cottage Garden mix, many of the seedlings were incredibly small, hidden beneath the burgeoning leaves of their taller neighbours and seemingly too fragile, I thought, to survive the transplanting process and I fully expected to lose a significant percentage of them. But I was wrong, with only a couple of the really small transplants succumbing to the stress of re-potting and slugs or snails seeing off a couple of the Deplhiniums and Marigolds.

A month on from that initial re-potting and the seedlings were in dire need of splitting into their own pots but, as with the chillies, a lack of space, pots and compost, delayed the process for a few days.

The Jasmine is growing nicely in the old wheel.

The Jasmine is growing nicely in the old wheel.

Then Wednesday, with pots and space freed up by all the planting out and/or on of the tomatoes, chillies, sweet peppers and cucumbers, I was finally able to start re-potting the flowers. It took me just under two hours!

Such was the number or seedlings in each pot, I soon ran out of the smaller black, square pots and realised that, once again, I would need to utilise the seed tray inserts that had been home to the chillies for so long. Carefully I pricked each seedling out and potted it into its’ own pot/module (except 4 very small seedlings which were potted into a larger pot, together) and before long space was, once more, becoming a bit scarce. However, the rectangular shape of the seed tray inserts and the squareness of the black pots enabled me to fit more plants into the available space than the round pots allowed.

By the end of the process I counted in excess of 100 individual pots (including the Delphiniums, Marigolds and Lupins) plus another 5 pots containing 6 or 7 Sweet Williams in each. Of course one of the excitements of sowing mixed seed is that you have no way of knowing what you will get in terms of colour. In my case the mystery is even more so because I know little of flowers and have no clue as to what some of the seedlings may eventually become and so I thought I’d put up a few photos of seedlings I am flummoxed with and ask for help:

Any help identifying these plants would be gratefully received. Obviously 100 plus border perennials is a little excessive and so I may end up selling the surplus on at the school fair ……. but not before I’ve squeezed as many as I can into our garden first!

2 thoughts on “A sea of flowers

  1. Your garden is going to look stunning this summer! Hope you’ll post some pictures when it’s in its full glory!

    • Thanks Pam. I’m actually taking a series of pictures of the garden, from a bedroom window on or around the same day each month. Started in March and I intend to post them in sequence in Octoberish 🙂

Please feel free to leave a comment and I'll respond as soon as I can

