The Land Rover Owners Wife

Autumn Apple Cake

4 Comments

Apple Cake

Autumn Apple Cake

With several apples I’d picked from my friends orchard, left over from the Autumn Chutney I’d made the other week, I decided to make one of my favourite puddings: Autumn Apple Cake. I say pudding but this particular cake is just as tasty cold, as part of a packed lunch, as it is fresh from the oven with hot custard, cream or ice-cream to accompany it (ask the Mudlets’ if you don’t believe me).

  • 175g/6oz softened butter,
  • 175g/6oz Caster Sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 350g/12 oz self raising flour
  • 4oz sultanas
  • 4oz raisins
  • 3 slightly heaped teaspoons of mixed spice
  • 450g/1lb of peeled, cored and chopped cooking apples (the size of the chinks is up to you but I usually aim for around 1.5 to 2 cm)
  • milk to bind the mixture

Apple CakeCream the butter and sugar together in a bowl until light and fluffy, then beat the eggs in one at a time. Fold in the flour, fruit and spice until combined and then add the chopped apple and mix with enough milk to make a soft consistency. Place the mixture into a greased and lined cake tin (I’ve used an 8 inch square and a 10 inch circular tin before and both have worked equally well) and then bake in the centre of your preheated to 180C, 350F or Gas Mark 4 oven, for about an hour until golden and firm. Remember that the skewer test won’t necessarily work with this cake due to the wetness of the apple chunks.

Loosen your cake from the sides of your tin with a knife but leave it to cool for about 10 minutes before you remove it completely. Either serve immediately with the accompaniment of your choice or place on cooling rack.

4 thoughts on “Autumn Apple Cake

  1. Yum, this looks really good and I’m excited to try it. I am trying to learn to bake and cook so new recipes are always appreciated.

  2. My Mum used to make an amazing apple cake with big chunk of apple in it and on top. Your recipe sounds very similar indeed…..yum!

Please feel free to leave a comment and I'll respond as soon as I can

