The Land Rover Owners Wife

A chocolate eating, cycling smurfette

1 Comment

This was a complete surprise

This was a complete surprise

I don’t think I will ever forget the look on Little Mudlets’ face the day she watched her mum disappear into the bathroom only to see a Smurfette walk out 5 minutes later. She literally did a double take before her jaw dropped open and eyes widened to the size of dinner plates.

“What have you done to yourself?” she asked in a tone somewhere between absolute horror and fascinated disbelief. Then the ridiculousness of what she was seeing hit her and she dissolved into fits of giggles …… at least I think it was giggles – could have been hysteria.

I think I’ve mentioned once or twice before that I don’t do the girly girly stuff such as clothes shopping just because I want to and I don’t have handbags for every occasions with matching footwear, in fact make-up is rarely seen about my person and unless I’m going to be seen in public, even my unruly mop of thick, dark hair only gets a couple of passes with my brush most days (although I did ask for and get a hairdryer from Santa last year, so I’m not a completely lost cause). As for pampering my skin, that’s also something for which I rarely make time and only ever realise I need some more cleanser, cotton pads etc. when I finally get some time to do anything even vaguely resembling a beauty regime. So it was a really lovely surprise when Eldest Mudlet sent me a couple of Lush products for my birthday.

And so did Eldest Mudlet and her boyfriend

Eldest Mudlet and her boyfriend did good

Both items arrived in a cute little wooden treasure chest (chosen by the boyfriend). The green item is a bath bomb which has long since gone and left my skin feeling smooth and soft without leaving a slippery, hard to remove residue on the bath which, in my limited experience, is often the case with the usual, mainstream varieties of this sort of product. The bright blue item is a face mask called ‘Don’t look at me’.

I have to say this was the first time I’ve ever had to check the ‘use by’ date on a cosmetic or keep it in the fridge but Lush products are made from Natural ingredients which may go off and so the fridge was a necessity. Mind you this meant that the product was really cooling when I applied it and I really did look like Smurfette especially as I’d applied it to my neck as well. When I finally washed the product off, my skin felt wonderful and looked brighter than it has for a long time and I’d swear that my lines weren’t quite as noticeable. I’ve used it twice now and I still have at least another two applications worth left in the tub but with a use by date of around the 6th October, I’ll need to use it up pretty quickly and hope that Santa sends me some more.

Mud and the Mudlets did good

And so did Mud and the Mudlets.

You may also remember that a month or so ago I dropped some not very subtle hints to Middle Mudlet about what I would like to receive for my birthday, namely a brightly coloured waterproof cycling jacket to enable me to cycle during the autumn and winter. Well I am delighted to report that she took my hints on board and I am now the proud owner of a lovely bright yellow, waterproof, lightweight cycling jacket ….. and of course I haven’t been able to use it much because of the unseasonably warm September. Never mind, Autumn is now upon us and I am confident I will be able to get lots of use out of it now.

Yes ..... I have blurred the numbers. I don't need reminding of my age

Yes ….. I have blurred the numbers. I don’t need reminding of my age

I also received the 2016 Great British Bake Off cook book which may well become a collector’s item now that greed has resulted in the format being sold to Channel 4 – but let’s not dwell on that distasteful thought. Needless to say I have already scrutinised the recipes and have a list as long as …… well the book, if I’m honest ….. that I am looking forward to trying once the Rayburn is back on 24/7. Chocolates and a bottle of Baileys were also received and duly polished off but the most touching and heartfelt gift from the younger Mudlets was a birthday cake, bought as a sponge covered in plain white fondant icing and then lovingly decorated by them, with icing pens and sugar or rice paper decorations which they chose. Mud left them to it and I think that between them, they’ve done a wonderful job.

 

One thought on “A chocolate eating, cycling smurfette

  1. Sounds like you had a wonderful birthday and well deserved I am sure. I bet that the family enjoyed spoiling you as much if not more than you enjoyed it.

Please feel free to leave a comment and I'll respond as soon as I can

