The Land Rover Owners Wife

Baby boom – one for the baby girls

5 Comments

It seems that there is quite a baby boom going on around here at the moment, with two of the four teachers in school both expecting (1 baby boy and 1 baby girl) within weeks of each other, one of the mums due any day (another little girl) and one of the neighbours  with a brand new baby girl.Baby jacket

I love knitting baby clothes – they are beautiful, cute and so quick to knit and so I rummaged through my wools and patterns, got out my needles and on Tuesday night, whilst Mud was surfing the net, I made a start on a baby jacket. I can’t remember the make of the wool I used but I believe it was  described as a ‘marble’ effect baby wool. The needles were size 3.25mm and 4mm and the pattern was Sirdar 1802.

Baby jacket

The finished pieces before I put them together to see what the jacket would look like.

The baby that this particular little jacket is for is due in June and so I decided to do the little short sleeve version. Once all the pieces were finished I laid them out to get a feel for how the finished garment would look like. Realising I had put the sleeves against the body the wrong way round, I changed them over but, oddly enough, that one action changed the entire look of the jacket and I didn’t like it anywhere near as much as I did with them in the wrong position: the wrongly positioned sleeves gave an almost ‘tiny wings’ feel to the sleeves whereas in the correct position the sleeves were just, well sleeves and so I changed them back and sowed them in in the ‘wrong’ position.

I did wonder about my decision but I really do like the look of the jacket now and can just imagine it over a little baby all-in-one or long sleeve top. I hope you like it.Baby jacket

5 thoughts on “Baby boom – one for the baby girls

  1. You are so clever, that baby jacket is beautiful! I wish I could knit, it must be very fulfilling, I sometimes do a bit of very simple needlepoint but knitting is beyond me as yet! I like the mental picture of you knitting in the evening, while Mud surfs the net, sounds like our house, my other half relaxes by looking at landrover parts on ebay!

  2. Lol – my heart sinks when Mud gets to ebay “Look darling that one is only 10 miles away” or “That’s a bit of bargain that one there” or “Oh look – a cute little series 1. You always wanted one of those – could be a bit of a bargain!” 😀

    Thanks for the kind comments about the jacket. Funny though as you say you can’t knit but can do needlepoint (needlepoint is never simple in my opinion) and I can’t sew to save my life but always wanted to learn!

  3. That is lovely! Lucky baby 😃 I’ve knitted that pattern twice & loved it.

    • Thanks Claire. I might do the larger size for my 6 year old later in the year but with the long sleeves. If truth be told, I prefer knitting long sleeves, as I’m never convinced that short sleeves look right, if that makes any sense at all. I’m still not 100% convinced about my choice with the sleeves on this jacket and very nearly decided to take them out and reattach them but I do like the ‘wing’ affect.

      • I’ll see if I can find my versions of it & post it on my blog. I think I’ve done short sleeves both times. I like knitting short sleeves because I have an antipathy to sleeve knitting at the best of times….

Please feel free to leave a comment and I'll respond as soon as I can

