The Land Rover Owners Wife

Jumper dress in Softfun Denim: Back finished

Leave a comment

I really like the cable pattern on this dress.

I really like the cable pattern on this dress.

I’ve finished the back section of Little Mudlets’ jumper dress and I really do like the way it looks, especially with the shaping which has been carried out subtly throughout the knitting process. If you look at the reverse stitch sections between the ‘diamondesque’ sections of the cable pattern, you can see that as the pattern moves up the piece, these sections narrow untill the pattern finally evolves into a much narrower diamond and then into twists without diamonds. This narrowing is initially achieved by decreasing one stitch at the centre of each reverse stitch section, as well as in the sections before the first cable column and after the last, on every 12th row before reducing to every 8 and then 6 rows.

The Scheepjeswol Softfun Denim yarn is proving a delight to work with and I think Little Mudlet will find her dress a soft and comfortable item to wear. I am especially pleased with how well the yarn works with the pattern detail, in respect of the crispness of cable finish. I’m still undecided as to whether or not to make this into a short-sleeved or long-sleeved version but I’ll leave that decision until I’ve completed the front section.

Please feel free to leave a comment and I'll respond as soon as I can

