The Land Rover Owners Ex Wife

……becoming me again

Squash, Hubbard Anna Swartz

Leave a comment

This is a record of how long this particular set of seeds took to germinate and how they looked at various stages from first appearance to the development of the first set of true leaves and beyond. I hope this will prove useful.

Variety: Hubbard Anne Swartz (RSC)
Sown indoors: 2nd April 2013
First Seedling: 8th April 2013
Germination: 6 days

These seedlings are 2 days old

Anne Swartz Hubbard Squash       Anne Swartz Hubbard Squash

2 weeks old - the first true leaves are emerging.

2 weeks old – the first true leaves are emerging.

At just shy of 3 weeks, these seedlings are starting to put on some serious growth and it won’t be long before they take over the greenhouse. It’s a few weeks yet before I will chance planting them out.

Squash, Anna Swartz Hubbrrd  Squash, Anna Swartz Hubbrrd

You can see the next set of leaves starting to develop and I have already planted out two of my Hubbards. I partially back fill the hole I’m about to plant my Squash plants into, using compost from our own compost bins. I then water the hole thoroughly before carefully placing the plant into its’ new home and firming it into place. These plants are now 6 weeks old.

Squash Anna Swartz Hubbard  Squash Anna Swartz Hubbard

The last of the seedlings has now been planted out, at 7 weeks.

Squash Anna Swartz Hubbard

Now 2 months old and the flower buds are beginning to form. These look to be male flowers as there is no sign of a swollen base to the flowers:

Squash, Anna Swartz Hubbard  Squash, Anna Swartz Hubbard

Toady (16th June 2013) I’ve spotted the first female flower on one of the Anne Swartz Hubbard Squash plants.

Squash Anna Swartz Hubbard  Squash Anna Swartz Hubbard

This morning (25th June) the female flower was open but sadly there were no male squash flowers open for pollination to take place. Next time maybe.

Squash Anna Swartz Hubbard  Squash Anna Swartz Hubbard  Squash Anna Swartz Hubbard

At three months old the Anna Swartz Hubbard Squash are growing nicely and have plenty of flowers on their vines.

Squash Anna Swartz Hubbard

Eureka! Today I had a male flower (pictured below) and a female flower open on two different plants ……

Squash Anna Swartz Hubbard   Squash Anna Swartz Hubbard

……. and so I grabbed my fine paintbrush, dipped it into the male flower to capture some of the pollen, before painting the stigma in the female flower. Yes, there was plenty of bees around but we love squash in our household and I just like to try and make sure pollination occurs.

Squash Anna Swartz Hubbard  Paintbrush covered in squash pollen  Squash Anna Swartz Hubbard

8 days later and the first of the fruits is swelling nicely (2 days after pollination).

Squash Anna Swartz Hubbard

This squash has continued to swell at a spectacular rate and at 10 days after pollination looks like this. I have started a separate post to document the growth of individual squash and pumpkins which can be found here.

Squash Anna Swartz Hubbard

I have noticed with the squash which are growing on the ground, that on the stem behind the fruit there are roots growing. I think that this is to aid the growing fruit with water and food supply but I have never seen this on any other squash or pumpkin I have grown. Another grower has also said that she has noticed the same thing.

Root from the stem behind a swelling fruit.

Root from the stem behind a swelling fruit.

I won’t be updating this post now until it is time to pick the squash which should be in October, before the first frosts and I will be watching the weather forecasts avidly from mid September onwards, to avoid being caught out by early frosts.

Well here it is! Slightly earlier than expected (5th September) I have brought the squash in because it decided to separate itself from the vine and it is rather large and heavy, weighing in at just over 3lb 14.2oz or 1762g, with a length of 27cm and a girth at its’ widest point of 49.5cm!

Squash Anna Swartz Hubbard

Please feel free to leave a comment and I'll respond as soon as I can

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.